Our Twin Boys

V Day

Posted on: February 17, 2012

I have been ignoring the blog for a while, busy at home, and stressed at work… I did not however stop reading any of the blogs that i usually read, and almost every single one of them had a post on valentine’s day. I am not a big fan of valentine’s day. I think it has just been over-hyped over the last few years especially by retail advertisers and restaurants. I agree that it gives you a day to celebrate your love, and remember to not take each other for granted. But, do you really need a 50$ bouquet of roses, a $200 dinner and/or a special gift? R very well knows how I feel, but back in the days when we were dating, he would send me a bouquet and gifts, and I would always tell him that I did not need those things, but i would not have the heart to make a big deal of it. But eventually, he got the message! :)Don’t get me wrong, I love flowers and gifts, even today, I always try to include in my budget a bouquet of fresh seasonal flowers for the house. It is just that everything is so overpriced on valentine’s day, and it feels like such a waste.

R did get me a single red rose (so sweet!). My MIL had made some yummy Indian sweet called Rasmalai (which translates to Cream and Sugar). So there you go, we had flowers and something sweet to munch, but it was low budget and low key like any other day.

Leave a Reply

